Discover the School Holiday Travel Club πŸ—Ί

ACT School Holidays 2024 (Canberra), School Terms & Public Holidays

Having the official dates of Australian Capital Territory school holidays, ACT school terms and Canberra public holidays 2024 handy makes planning simple.

When asking, "When does school holidays start?", "When does school start in 2024?" or "When is school holidays in Canberra, ACT?" - you'll find the key dates below.

ACT School Holidays 2024 Canberra, Australian Capital Territory school holidays, ACT school terms 2024, Canberra public holidays 2024.
ACT school holidays 2024 - 2023 (Canberra); ACT school terms 2024 and Canberra public holidays 2024

Whether you're looking forward to the April school holidays, Easter 2024, July school holidays 2024, September school holidays 2024, Christmas school holidays 2024, or Canberra long weekends, we've got the official dates you need.


Navigate to ACT school holidays, term dates and Canberra public holidays 2024 & 2023:


ACT School Terms 2024 (Canberra)

ACT school term 2024 ACT term dates 2024*

Term 1 2024

Monday 29 January 2024 - Friday 12 April 2024


ACT pupil-free day: Monday 29 January 2024.
Schools start 2024: Tuesday 30 January 2024 (new students) / Wednesday 31 January 2024 (continuing students).

Term 2 2024

Monday 29 April 2024 - Friday 05 July 2024


ACT pupil-free day - Term 2: Monday 29 April 2024.
Term 2 starts: Tuesday 30 April 2024.

Term 3 2024

Monday 22 July 2024 - Friday 27 September 2024


Term 3 pupil-free day: Monday 22 July 2024.
Term 3 starts: Tuesday 23 July 2024.

Term 4 2024

Monday 14 October 2024 - Tuesday 17 December 2024


ACT pupil-free day - Term 4: Monday 14 October 2024.
Term 4 starts: Tuesday 15 October 2024.

Planning your weekend in Canberra?

Dive into our guide packed with Canberra activities and family-friendly events to make the most of your ACT school terms 2024 weekends!

πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘¦

Top things to do in Canberra with kids

Explore fun things to do in Canberra with kids and attractions for families.

Top things to do in Canberra
πŸŽ‰

What's on in Canberra this weekend

Find out what's on in Canberra this weekend, including family events & kids shows.

Events in Canberra this weekend

ACT School Holidays 2024 (Canberra)

ACT school term 2024 ACT school holiday dates 2024*

Term 1 Holidays

April school holidays 2024 Canberra / Easter 2024:

Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024

(Easter holidays 2024 are part of Term 1)


Teachers start Term 2: Monday 29 April 2024.
Kids go back for Term 2: Tuesday 30 April 2024.

Term 2 Holidays

July school holidays 2024 ACT:

Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024


School Term 3 starts on Monday 22 July 2024 (teachers) / Tuesday 23 July 2024 (students).

Term 3 Holidays

ACT September school holidays 2024:

Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024


School Term 4 starts on Monday 14 October 2024 (teachers) / Tuesday 15 October 2024 (kids).

Term 4 Holidays

ACT Christmas school holidays 2024:

Wednesday 18 December 2024 - Thursday 30 January 2025


Teachers return to school 2025: Friday 31 January 2025
Kids go back to school 2025: Monday 3 February 2025 (new students) / Tuesday 4 February 2025 (continuing students).

Ready for the Canberra school holidays 2024?

Dive into our guide for Canberra school holiday activities and family-friendly adventures. Whether it's April, July, September, or the Christmas school holidays 2024, we've got your plans sorted!

πŸ˜„

School holiday activities Canberra 2024

Dive into our helpful guide packed with fun school holiday activities in Canberra.

School holiday fun
πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘¦

Top things to do in Canberra with kids

Discover top things to do in Canberra with kids and fun attractions for families.

Top things to do
πŸŽ‰

What's on in Canberra school holidays

Find out what's on in Canberra school holidays, including kids and family events.

Events in Canberra

ACT Public Holidays 2024 (Canberra)

ACT public holiday 2024 Canberra Public holiday date*
New Year’s Day Monday 1 January 2024
Australia Day Friday 26 January 2024
Canberra Day Monday 11 March 2024
Good Friday Friday 29 March 2024
Easter Saturday Saturday 30 March 2024
Easter Sunday Sunday 31 March 2024
Easter Monday Monday 1 April 2024
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April 2024
Reconciliation Day Monday 27 May 2024
King's Birthday Monday 10 June 2024
Labour Day Monday 7 October 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December 2024
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December 2024

A simple rule of thumb regarding Canberra public holidays:

When New Year’s Day, Anzac Day, or Christmas Day falls on a weekend (Saturday or Sunday), the following Monday is also a public holiday.

Regarding Boxing Day, when it falls on a Saturday, the following Monday is also a public holiday. When Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday, the coming Tuesday is also a public holiday.


ACT School Terms 2023 Canberra

School term ACT term dates*

Term 1 ACT

Monday 30 January 2023 - Thursday 06 April 2023

Term 2 ACT

Monday 24 April 2023 - Friday 30 June 2023

Term 3 ACT

Monday 17 July 2023 - Friday 22 September 2023

Term 4 ACT

Monday 09 October 2023 - Friday 15 December 2023

ACT School Holidays 2023 Canberra

School term School holiday dates*

Term 1 Holidays

Easter holidays 2023 Canberra:

Friday 07 April 2023 - Sunday 23 April 2023

School starts on Monday 24 April 2023

Term 2 Holidays

July school holidays 2023 ACT:

Saturday 01 July 2023 - Sunday 16 July 2023

Kids go back to school on Monday 17 July 2023

Term 3 Holidays

September - October school holidays 2023 ACT:

Saturday 23 September 2023 - Sunday 08 October 2023

School term starts on Monday 9 October 2023

Term 4 Holidays

Christmas school holidays 2023 ACT:

Saturday 16 December 2023 - Sunday 28 January 2024


Teachers return to school 2024: Monday 29 January 2024
ACT back to school 2024: Tuesday 30 January 2024 (new students) / Wednesday 31 January 2024 (continuing students)

ACT Public Holidays 2023 Canberra

Canberra public holiday Public holiday date*
New Year’s Day Sunday 1 January 2023
New Year’s Holiday Monday 2 January 2023
Australia Day Thursday 26 January 2023
Canberra Day Monday 13 March 2023
Good Friday Friday 7 April 2023
Easter Saturday Saturday 8 April 2023
Easter Sunday Sunday 9 April 2023
Easter Monday Monday 10 April 2023
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2023
Reconciliation Day Monday 29 May 2023
King's Birthday Monday 12 June 2023
Labour Day Monday 2 October 2023
Christmas Day Monday 25 December 2023
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December 2023
Cookie consent at schoolholidays.com.au

Cookie Consent

We use cookies (and other similar technologies) to improve your experience on our site. By using this website you agree to our Cookie Policy.