Download your Free April Holiday Planner 🐰

Tasmania School Holidays 2024, School Terms & Public Holidays

Having the official term dates 2024 for Tasmania, school holidays, and public holidays handy makes planning simple.

When asking, “When does school go back in Tasmania?”, "When does school holidays start?" or “When are school holidays in Tasmania?” - you’ll find the key dates below.

Tasmania school holidays 2024, Tasmanian school terms 2024, public holidays Tasmania 2024.
Tasmania school holidays 2024 & 2023, school terms and public holidays

Whether you’re looking forward to the Easter holidays 2024, July school holidays 2024, September - October school holidays 2024 Christmas holidays, or the next school holidays in Tasmania, we've got the official dates you need.


Navigate to TAS school holidays, terms and public holidays 2024 & 2023:


School Terms Tasmania 2024: Hobart, Launceston

School terms Tasmania Term dates 2024 Tasmania*

Term 1 2024

Thursday 08 February 2024 - Friday 12 April 2024

Term 2 2024

Monday 29 April 2024 - Friday 05 July 2024

Term 3 2024

Monday 22 July 2024 - Friday 27 September 2024

Term 4 2024

Monday 14 October 2024 - Thursday 19 December 2024

Colleges: Term 4 finish date is announced at local level.

Gear up for the perfect weekend in Hobart

Explore what's on in Hobart this weekend for families and the most fun things to do in Hobart for kids, so every weekend of the Tasmania school terms in 2024 is packed with fun and adventures.

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦

Fun things to do in Hobart for kids

Dive into the most fun things to do in Hobart for kids and the must-see attractions for families.

Fun activities in Hobart
🎉

What's on in Hobart this weekend for families

Discover what's on in Hobart this weekend, including family events and upcoming events for kids.

What's on in Hobart

School Holidays Tasmania 2024: Hobart, Launceston

School term School holiday dates*

Term 1 Holidays

Easter / April school holidays 2024 Tasmania:

Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024

School starts on Monday 29 April 2024


Easter holidays 2024 are part of Term 1

Term 2 Holidays

July school holidays Tasmania 2024:

Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024

School term starts on Monday 22 July 2024

Term 3 Holidays

September - October school holidays Tasmania:

Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024

School starts on Monday 14 October 2024

Term 4 Holidays

Tasmania Christmas holidays 2024:

Friday 20 December 2024 - Wednesday 05 February 2025

Kids go back to school 2025: Thursday 6 February 2025

Get ready for the Tasmanian school holidays 2024

Maximize your fun during the Tasmania school holidays in 2024. Whether Easter, July, September - October or Christmas holidays, dive into the best school holiday activities and fun things to do with kids in Hobart.

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦

School holiday activities in Hobart

Dive into fun school holiday activities and things to do in Hobart for kids and families.

Fun activities in Hobart
🎉

What's on Hobart school holidays

Discover what's on in Hobart school holidays, like the most trilling kids' events and fun family events.

What's on in Hobart

Public Holidays Tasmania 2024: Hobart, Launceston

TAS public holidays 2024 Public holiday date*
New Year’s Day Monday 1 January 2024
Australia Day Friday 26 January 2024
Eight Hour Day Monday 11 March 2024
Good Friday Friday 29 March 2024
Easter Monday Monday 1 April 2024
Easter Tuesday (Public Service only) Tuesday 2 April 2024
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April 2024
King's Birthday Monday 10 June 2024
Recreation Day Monday 4 November 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December 2024
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December 2024

A simple rule of thumb for Tasmanian public holidays:

When New Year’s Day, Australia Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day fall on a Saturday, the following Monday is also a public holiday.

When New Year’s Day, Australia Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day fall on a Sunday, the coming Tuesday is also a public holiday.

When Anzac Day falls on a weekend (Saturday or Sunday), there is no additional holiday is observed on the following Monday.


School Terms Tasmania 2023: Hobart, Launceston

School term TAS School term dates 2023 TAS*

Term 1 Tasmania

Wednesday 08 February 2023 - Wednesday 05 April 2023

Colleges: Wednesday 8 February 2023 - Thursday 6 April 2023

Term 2 Tasmania

Wednesday 26 April 2023 - Friday 07 July 2023

Term 3 Tasmania

Tuesday 25 July 2023 - Friday 29 September 2023

Colleges: Monday 24 July 2023 - Friday 29 September 2023

Term 4 Tasmania

Monday 16 October 2023 - Thursday 21 December 2023

Colleges: Term 4 finish date is announced at local level.

Tasmanian School Holidays 2023: Hobart, Launceston

School Term School holiday dates*

Term 1 Holidays

Easter holidays 2023 Tasmania:

Thursday 06 April 2023 - Tuesday 25 April 2023

Colleges: Friday 7 April 2023 - Tuesday 25 April 2023

School starts on Wednesday 26 April 2023.

Term 2 Holidays

July school holidays Tasmania 2023:

Saturday 08 July 2023 - Monday 24 July 2023

Colleges: Saturday 8 July 2023 - Sunday 23 July 2023

Term starts on Tuesday 25 July 2023 (schools) / Monday 24 July 2023 (colleges).

Term 3 Holidays

September - October school holidays Tasmania 2023:

Saturday 30 September 2023 - Sunday 15 October 2023

Kids go back to school on Monday 16 October 2023.

Term 4 Holidays

Christmas school holidays Tasmania:

Friday 22 December 2023 - Wednesday 07 February 2024

Colleges: Term 4 finish date is announced at local level.

Back to school 2024: Wednesday 8 February 2024.

Public Holidays Tasmania 2023: Hobart, Launceston

TAS public holidays 2023 Public holiday date*
New Year’s Day Sunday 1 January 2023
New Year’s Holiday Monday 2 January 2023
Australia Day Thursday 26 January 2023
Eight Hour Day Monday 13 March 2023
Good Friday Friday 7 April 2023
Easter Monday Monday 10 April 2023
Easter Tuesday (Public Service only) Tuesday 11 April 2023
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2023
King's Birthday Monday 12 June 2023
Recreation Day Monday 6 November 2023
Christmas Day Monday 25 December 2023
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December 2023

Frequently Asked Questions

Tasmanian schools go back in 2024 as follows:

Term 1: Thursday 08 February 2024

Term 2: Monday 29 April 2024

Term 3: Monday 22 July 2024

Term 4: Monday 14 October 2024.

Below are the dates when the next public school holidays start in Tasmania:

April school holidays start on: Saturday 13 April 2024

July school holidays start on: Saturday 06 July 2024

School holidays start in September 2024 on: Saturday 28 September 2024

Christmas holidays start on: Friday 20 December 2024

The Tasmania school holidays start as follows:

April school holidays: Saturday 13 April 2024

July school holidays: Saturday 06 July 2024

September school holidays: Saturday 28 September 2024

Christmas holidays: Friday 20 December 2024

Kids go back to school in 2024:

Term 1 starts on: Thursday 08 February 2024;

Term 2 starts on: Monday 29 April 2024;

Term 3 starts on: Monday 22 July 2024;

Term 4 starts in Tasmania on: Monday 14 October 2024.

Public schools go back to school 2024 on Thursday 08 February 2024;

Term 2 starts on: Monday 29 April 2024

Term 3 starts on: Monday 22 July 2024

Term 4 starts on: Monday 14 October 2024.

The day public school finishes 2024 in Tasmania is Thursday, 19 December 2024.

For Colleges, the finish date is announced at the local level.

The Tasmanian school holidays 2024 are scheduled on the following dates:

April school holidays 2024: Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024

July school holidays 2024: Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024

October school holidays 2024: Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024

Christmas holidays start on: Friday 20 December 2024, and end on Tuesday 04 February 2025

The Summer holidays are from Friday 22 December 2023 until Wednesday 07 February 2024;

April school holidays 2024: Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024;

July school holidays 2024: Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024;

October school holidays 2024: Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024;

Christmas holidays 2024: Friday 20 December 2024 - Tuesday 04 February 2025.

Public schools go back in Tasmania on the following dates:

Term 1: Thursday 08 February 2024;

Term 2: Monday 29 April 2024;

Term 3: Monday 22 July 2024;

Term 4: Monday 14 October 2024.

The dates when school starts in 2024 as follows:

Term 1: Thursday 08 February 2024

Term 2: Monday 29 April 2024

Term 3: Monday 22 July 2024

Term 4: Monday 14 October 2024.

The next school holidays 2024 in Tasmania are as follows:

April school holidays 2024: Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024

July school holidays 2024: Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024

October school holidays 2024: Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024

Christmas school holidays 2024: Friday 20 December 2024 - Tuesday 04 February 2025

The next school holidays in Tasmania are scheduled as follows:

April school holidays 2024: Saturday 13 April 2024 - Sunday 28 April 2024;

July school holidays 2024: Saturday 06 July 2024 - Sunday 21 July 2024;

October school holidays 2024: Saturday 28 September 2024 - Sunday 13 October 2024;

Christmas school holidays 2024: Friday 20 December 2024 - Tuesday 04 February 2025.

The Christmas school holidays end on: Tuesday 6 February 2024;

April school holidays 2024 end on: Sunday 28 April 2024;

July school holidays 2024 end on: Sunday 21 July 2024;

October school holidays 2024 end on: Sunday 13 October 2024;

Christmas holidays 2024 end on: Tuesday 04 February 2025.

Easter in Tasmania occurs on the following dates:

Good Friday: Friday 29 March 2024;

Easter 2024: 31 March 2024;

Easter Monday: Monday 1 April 2024;

Easter Tuesday (Public Service only): Tuesday 2 April 2024;

April school holidays 2024 start on Saturday 13 April 2024, and end on Sunday 28 April 2024.

Easter holidays 2024 (part of Term 1 this year) occur as follows:

Good Friday: Friday 29 March 2024;

Easter 2024: 31 March 2024;

Easter Monday: Monday 1 April 2024;

Easter Tuesday (Public Service only): Tuesday 2 April 2024;

April school holidays start on Saturday 13 April 2024, and finish on Sunday 28 April 2024.

Cookie consent at schoolholidays.com.au

Cookie Consent

We use cookies (and other similar technologies) to improve your experience on our site. By using this website you agree to our Cookie Policy.